Illinois DUI, Drunk Driving Deaths In Illinois On The Rise

Reckless Driving

Driving recklessly is not only a criminal offence but something that has the potential to ruin lives, both of the people committing the crime and the victim. You may not care for your own life;

however no one has given you the right to take someone else’s life.

It is never a good idea to risk lives while doing something one is passionate about.

“In Illinois” the reckless driving incidents are a perpetual problem that threatens the people.

  • DUI in Illinois is defined very strictly and the police in Illinois are also very upbeat about this kind of criminal offence. In most cases a chemical test is conducted to affirm whether the accused is actually a criminal or not. In this respect, DUI laws in Illinois do not allow the offender to get away easily.
  • DUI evaluation in Illinois requires every person to undergo a test.

Administrative Penalties:

DUI laws in Illinois have been improved.

Earlier the level of alcohol content in the blood (Blood alcohol concentration or BAC) required determining whether a person is an offender used to be .010 which in the year 1997 got changed to .08 and in the process becoming the 15th state to impose such a stringent rule against the crime of drunken driving.

“The first offence charge is the arrest.” Administrative penalties or other kinds of penalty depend upon the circumstances in which the offender was sought to be accused. When felony charges are brought upon the offender it is called aggravated DUI. The charges that are specifically administrative are given below:

  • Class 2 felony cancellation of driving rights for life without any relief available.
  • If any person is found to have a blood alcohol concentration of more than 0.16 DUI laws in Illinois provides for an imprisonment of 2 days with a minimum fine of $500 and compulsory minimum 100 hours of community service.
  • If a person commits the crime and a child of under the age 16 is involved, in addition to the penalties or fines, there is a possibility of imprisonment of up to 6 months. In this case, a minimum fine of $1,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children must be done.
  • If the crime is committed while transporting a child under age 16 and involved in a crash that caused a physical harm to the child (Aggravated DUI); Class 4 offense charges would be brought against the person. For other criminal or organizational sanctions, compulsory fine of $2,500 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children would be implemented.

Administrative penalties also refer to the suspension of driving licence for a certain period of time.

Criminal Penalties:

  • Class A misdemeanour; mandatory minimum imprisonment of 5 days or 240 hours of community service; revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of 5 years for a second conviction within 20 years; suspension of vehicle registration.
  • If the crime is committed while transporting a child under age 16; Class4 felony. If committed while transporting a child under age 16 and involved in a crash that inflicted harm to the child a fine of $1250.

DUI Legal Counsel

Legal counsel is necessary because the law regarding DUI in Illinois is complex. One pertains to the suspension driving licence and the other to the criminal proceedings against the offender.

DUI Plea Options

  1. A driver may request a judicial hearing to challenge a statutory summary suspension within 90 days after the notice date.
  2. The hearing must be conducted within 30 days of the request or on the first court date scheduled to consider the criminal charges.