DUI/DWI laws

There is no doubt that driving a vehicle comes with lots of responsibilities. While driving, you not only have to take care of the traffic rule, but have to look around for other’s safety as well. However, sometimes mistake can happen. You can find yourself on the wrong side of the law if you get caught for driving when drunk of intoxicated. According to drink driving statistics,

most of the road accidents happen due to driving under the influence of alcohol, which is also called as alcohol impaired driving.

The DUI penalties usually vary from state to state or country to country. And it is quite necessary to have some knowledge about the DUI laws of your state or country. To help you understand in a better way, we have provided some basic information.

Drunk Driving Laws

Like it is mentioned above, the laws related to DUI vary from state to state.

Let us talk about the Arizona DUI Laws,

below they are:

  • Tolerance of alcohol concentration in blood is 0.00% for people under 21yr age group; 0.08% for people 21yr or older; and 0.04% for commercial group.
  • On the other hand, if you refuse to undergo a chemical test (for BAC), in that case your license will be suspended for 1 year (1st offense) and 2 years (2nd and 3rd offense).
  • When it comes to minimum jail time for 1st offense and 2nd offense, it is 24 hours and 30 days respectively; whereas there is no such minimum figure for 3rd offense.
  • On the other hand, the fines associated with 1st offense, 2nd offense, and 3rd offense is $1450, $3010, and $4610 respectively.

So, one cannot take Arizona’s DUI law lightly, and you must learn about the driving laws of your region or hire a good lawyer.

Blood Alcohol Concentration (chemical test)

BAC or blood alcohol concentration is a kind of chemical test to figure out the level of alcohol in your blood. If the concentration of alcohol in blood while driving is found to be higher than the prescribed limit, it is considered as an offense. The level or concentration is measured in a simple way, and it is the percent of alcohol (usually considered as ethanol) in the blood by weight. In Europe, the concentration is usually expressed in the unit of milligram. On the other hand, in the United States the unit of concentration is measured in percent weight/volume, i.e. 1 gram per 100 ml. It is important to keep in mind that the amount of calculated through breathalyzer is completely different from BAC.

DWI Penalties

DWI or Driving While Intoxicated penalties can be mild or very severe, depending upon the state laws. In most of the regions across the United States, the penalties are categorized into four types of DWI offense.

They are:

  • 1st DWI offense: Penalty usually goes up to $1500 and suspension of license up to 6 months.
  • 2nd DWI offense: Penalty goes up to $3000 with 2 year loss of license.
  • 3rd DWI offense: Here you may have to pay up to $3000 as fine, and your license may be suspended for 10 years.
  • 4th DWI offense: It is equivalent to felony DWI.

Ignition Interlocks

It is a kind of device that can be installed on a motor vehicle. But, what role does it play? Well, if your motor vehicle is equipped with an ignition interlocks, it would not allow you to drive your vehicle when you are drunk.

When you exhale into the equipment, it automatically detects a high concentration of alcohol in your blood, and stops your vehicle from being started.