DUI Under 21 California

A zero tolerance policy is adopted by CA with respect drunk driving of the minors or the children below 21years of age.

The driving under the influence is considered to be a civil offence in California.

Underage DUI California

Even if a person has a BAC of 0.01% he may be penalized for drunken driving. Hence, even if a person has a drink or two he may be made liable under the DUI laws. One of the key features of the law dealing with DUI of underage is that it is not like a typical DUI charge, because the age doesn’t matter. Only thing which is taken into consideration is that whether measurable amount of alcohol has been consumed before driving. Hence, the under age drinking is treated as par to the adult drinking.

The basic meaning of “Zero tolerance” is that there will be zero tolerance for any alcohol in a person’s system while driving. One of the biggest criticisms is that even if a person has taken a medicine which has a level of alcohol content he may be subjected to prosecution.

Like any other DUI cases the preliminary alcohol screening (hereinafter called as the “PAS”) test and urine test, blood test and the breath test shall be given by the DUI offender so that the BAC is determined.

CA under age DUI penalties and Fines

The punishments and penalties are discussed in the Vehicle Code 23140 VC of California. For the first conviction the person will be made subject to $100 penalty. For the second conviction the penalty will be $200 dollars and for the third conviction the penalty shall be $300.

It is important to note that the second conviction should be within one year of the first conviction and in the same way the third conviction shall be with one year of the second conviction.


There are different set of penalties for being below 21 years and having a BAC between 0.05% – 0.07%. This will subject a person to additional penalties apart from paying the above fines. Some of the additional penalties are that the person may lose his driver’s license of California for one year and/or an alcohol program for a minimum of three months may have to be attended to get the license reinstated. The person may also be required to participate in the program on youthful drunk driving. This program is to observe the DUI accident victims and the people who are in their terminal stages of drug abuse or alcoholism. The judge may also abstain the person from drinking alcohol or before he reaches the age of 21 and the person might also be strictly abstained from using illegal drugs.

DUI under the Vehicle Code 23152 VC California is also considered to be a Misdemeanor. As remarked above the DUI of California is charged irrespective of the age of the person. But the penalties and sentencing will depend upon the facts of the case and the person’s criminal history. The penalties for Misdemeanor include 3 to 5 years of probation which is informal, a fine between $390 and $1,000 and maximum of one year of imprisonment in county jail. A person may also be asked to join an alcohol class and he will be subject to suspension of drivers’ license for a period of 6 months.

Underage DUI statistics in California

According to the general statistics, between the ages of 12 to 13, one out of every ten children is consuming alcohol every month at least for one time. Last year 522 children who were below the age of 14 were arrested and out of this around 113 were aged 10 years). Around 70% of all the teenagers consume alcohol and around 60% of the teen deaths are some where related to consumption of alcohol and drinking.

Teenage DUI classes

A California dui help may be taken to get the teenagers enrolled in the DUI classes. In a la dui and some of the other DUI a charge may be viably defended even though the legal limit is crossed. One of the most well recognized programs is the “SafeRides” programs which are there throughout California. This program has a few volunteers who agree to drive home the kinds who are drunk. The children may also be required to attend the classes which the court directs them to attend. This will help them not only to reduce their drinking but also to drive safe.