DUI Consequences

Driving comes with a lot of responsibilities that every person must fulfill. Nevertheless, some people think themselves above the law and drive recklessly on the road. As a result, they not only put their own life at danger, but invite peril to people walking on the roads as well. Most of the road accidents happen due to DUI or driving under influence, where the driver is intoxicated by the consumption of alcohol. Most of the states in the United States have implemented stringent laws against those who drive while intoxicated. If we talk about the driving laws of the state California, it is basically divided into four levels. Each level has different kind of punishment and penalties, based upon the nature of crime. So, let us provide you some idea about DUI consequences California.

First DUI Consequences

Most of you may already have an idea about the first level of DUI consequences. Yes, it is for the first time offenders of driving under influence. People who get caught for the first time for breaking DUI laws, they are charged with first DUI offense. So, what are the consequences? Take a look:

  • Probation: The probation period ranges from 3 to 5 years, during which the offender has to completely refrain from drinking and driving. However, he or she does not have to report to any probation officer during that period.
  • Fines and Fees: If we add the amount of fines and court fees, it would fall somewhere between $1400 and $1800. One can pay this amount within 45 days from the day of offense.
  • Driver License: The offender’s license is suspended for 6 months.
  • Jail Time: One has to spend 48 hours in jail, and it is mandatory.

 

2nd Dui Consequences

People who get caught for the second time are charged with second DUI offence. However, it is also possible to get slapped with 2nd DUI charges for the first time offenders, if the nature of offense is too serious. Below are the consequences:

  • Probation: Again, the period of probation ranges from 3 to 5 years, during which the law breaker has to completely stay away from drinking and driving. In this case also, he or she does not have to report to any probation officer during the probation period.
  • Fines and Fees: The penalty associated with 2nd DUI offense would fall somewhere between $1800 and $2800. Again, the court will provide him or her up to 45 days to pay the amount (from the day of offense).
  • Driver License: In this case, it will result to driver’s license suspension up to 2 years
  • DUI School: The offender has to attend DUI School for 18 months.
  • Jail Time: The jail term shoots up to 96 hours, and it is mandatory.

 

Third Dui Consequences

Quite obviously, this is for those offenders who get caught for the 3rd time; even for the 1st time offenders if the nature of offense is too serious. You can definitely expect the rules to be harsh in this case. Below are the legal drunk driving consequences for the 3rd time offenders.

  • Probation: Probation ranges from 3 to 5 years, during which the law breaker may or may not have to report to the probation officer. It is completely decided by the court.
  • Fines and Fees: Same as 2nd DUI offense.
  • Driver License: Driver’s license can be suspended up to 10 years.
  • DUI School: Same as 2nd DUI offense.
  • Jail Time: Offender has to spend 120 hours in jail, and it is mandatory.

So, those were some of the important DUI facts that everyone should know. It is always better not to drive when you are intoxicated.