California DMV DUI, DMV Registration Suspension Hearing

In the state of California, the DUI (Driving under the Influence) laws are very strict. The DUI investigation begins, if you violate the traffic rule, hit something or involved in an accident. The officers checks whether there is an odor of alcoholic beverage in your breath and there are any signs of intoxication. If you are found driving under the influence, the officer takes your driver license into his possession and sends a report to the Motor Vehicles Department of California (DMV). The DMV conducts a review and sends a DMV suspension or revocation order. You have the right to request a hearing from the DMV within 10 days of receiving the suspension order.

California DMV Dui Points

Driver’s license suspension

If you are under the suspicion of DUI, the officer may require you to take breath, blood or urine test. If the test confirms that your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or more, you will be acquitted of DUI Charge. If you plead guilty to a DUI, you will get punishment, which varies according to your criminal history and the facts of the case. A driver license suspension is one of the important types of penalty.

Request a DMV hearing California

DMV California offers you the right to a hearing, even if you are already scheduled to appear in court for the DUI offence. The suspension or revocation will be reversed, after the DMV hearing deals with the situations surrounding under a DUI arrest. If you are found guilty, the DMV may consider suspending your license. You need to pay a reissue fee of $125 to the DMV 30 days after suspension.
If you have a non commercial driver license and have submitted proof that you are enrolled in a DUI treatment program, you may request a restricted license California DUI to drive to and from the DUI treatment program and work.

Hearing to contest the suspension

You can get the help of your attorney to call the DMV driver safety office within ten days to contest the suspension at an administrative hearing. It is always advisable to request a DMV suspension hearing, as there are some chances to discard the suspension. More often, the DMV is unable to provide a hearing before the expiry of 20 day temporary license, because of work overload. In such case, your attorney can demand for an extension of the temporary license.

Preliminary alcohol screening test

If your age is 21 or more, you need to take an alcohol screening test. If the test shows that your BAC level is 0. 08 or more, you need to get to know how long is your license suspended for a DUI. If it is your first offence, the license will be suspended for four months. If it is your second or third offence, it will result in one year suspension or more.

Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits

DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) California law sets the illegal BAC limits. 0.08% or more BAC is the limit for most drivers. For commercial driver license holders, the limit is .04% and for younger drivers aged less than 21 and those who are on probation for a DUI, the limit is 0.01%.

Revocation guidelines

If you are 21 years or more at the time of arrest and you refused to take a breath, blood and/or urine test and if it is your first offense, your license will be suspended for one year. If it is second offense, it will lead to a 2 year revocation. Your license will be revoked, if you fail to complete the PAS test also, provided you are committing the offence second time.

If you are living in Florida, you need to understand the Florida DMV DUI laws. Under Florida Law, DUI is an offence. You need to pay a fine. The fine and penalties will be more, if your BAC level is higher or there is a minor in the vehicle.