Being convicted for 4th DUI Offense is considered as a felony in most states. There are many things you have to know once you are caught for the fourth time. Research well and get a good attorney to represent you in court. Believe me, the lawyer is very important. A glitch on his side can end you up in deep trouble. Here are a few things that you need to know when researching on 4th DUI offense.
4th DUI Offense Fines
Once the court confirms your 4 DUI, you will have to pay fines and spend considerable time in jail. The fine varies with state. Here is a list of fine that has to be paid in different states:
- California- Between $390 and $1000
- Delaware- About $15000
- Florida- Minimum of $4000
- Louisiana- $5000
- Massachusetts- $1500 to $25000.
- Connecticut-$2000 to $8000
The fine will be decided depending on the range of the state and also on the number of charges. Sometimes the fine may have to go out of range if accidents were involved since the amount in damages will also have to be paid. You can make use of a 4th DUI insurance to pay off the fines.
4th DUI law
When you are caught for drink driving the fourth time, it is considered as a serious act of felony of class E by law enforcers. Whichever state you are in, you are required to ask for an administrative hearing within 10 days of apprehension. You will have to undergo a medical test to determine whether you BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) were within the legal limit of 0.08% or not.
If you are reluctant to ask for an administrative hearing or to take medical test, the court will be forced to charge you for the same in addition to the charges regarding 4th DUI Offense. You can walk out of the court free if the prosecution was unable to prove that were not sober. You will have to face the punishments as prescribed by the court if you are inability to drive is proven in court. 4th DUI statistics of California show that 1.5% of those apprehended for DUI are fourth timers and is a dip when compared to the past years.
4th DUI punishment
As said before, being the fourth DUI is considered to be a class E felony and without doubt will be dealt seriously. If you are unable to prove that you were sober at the time of apprehension, you will have to go through a jail term for sure and also pay a fine. Depending on the seriousness of the charges the fines and jail term will vary. The jail term and fine are different in different states. Your license will be suspended for a period of 5 years. Sometimes your license will be suspended forever. The jail term can be of three years. The term will depend on whether the case was registered as felony or misdemeanor. A good attorney can prove to be the factor that mitigates the sentence.
4th DUI defense
You need to hunt for the best lawyer you can get to present your side before the court. Not just any lawyer will do. Getting a 4th DUI Lawyer is a must. The reason for this is that an ordinary lawyer may not have enough experience in dealing with DUI cases and an experienced lawyer is someone who can pull you out of the issues. You need to discuss the issue with your lawyer and tell the true facts. These facts will help the lawyer to find areas that can be used for reducing your sentence. It is best to get eye witnesses who can refute the statement of the police regarding your inability to drive. Eye witnesses are given prime importance by any court.